Newcastle Poetry PrizeNews
March 20, 2018

2018 Newcastle Poetry Prize Judges

We are thrilled to have poet Nathan Curnow as one of our judges of the 2018 Newcastle Poetry Prize judges. Nathan is based in Ballarat, Victoria, and is a past editor of Going Down Swinging. He was published in the 2011 Newcastle Poetry Prize anthology and his published books include The…
Newcastle Short Story AwardNews
March 13, 2018

2018 Newcastle Short Story Award finalists announced

  Ryan O'Neill, 2018 Newcastle Short Story Award judge We are thrilled to announce the authors selected to be published in the 2018 Newcastle Short Story Award anthology. Join us at the prize ceremony to find out which of these authors (listed below) will win the prize pool valued at…
February 23, 2018

Willy Wonka’s widow

Our Grieve writing competition (open now) receives many stories and poems about dementia, Alzheimer's and other memory loss conditions.  The fabulous actor, Gene Wilder, suffered Alzheimer's and his widow wrote this very honest article in Rolling Stone magazine  about the toll this condition takes on carers. 40% of Alzheimer's caregivers…
February 19, 2018

Grief and Loss – ‘Tell it like it is’

The Grieve writing competition accepts stories and poems on any topic related to loss. Loss of a job, loss of a home, mobility, a pet. Yes, death is a common theme in the stories and poems that are selected for the anthology, but the judges are also looking for fresh…
February 15, 2018

Grieve Writing Competition Has Now Opened

The Grieve writing competition is now open. Enter a short story or a poem on the Grieve Project page. Grief is the human response to change and loss in our lives, such as the death of someone we love. It is a natural and normal response, which has a physical…
Member NewsNewsPoetryWriting Groups
February 8, 2018

HWC Poetry Group

Hunter Writers Centre funded the publication of the HWC poetry group's series of poems that pay tribute to Margaret Olley. Olley was an iconic figure in Australian art whose main focus on landscapes and interiors turned everyday objects and scenes into bursts of colour. As the model for one of…
Member NewsNewsWriting Groups
February 8, 2018

Member News – Graham Davidson

Graham was shortlisted in the Writers Unleashed Picture Book writing competition and attended the one-day conference in Sydney to receive his award. Launched in Christchurch on Sept 2nd, Wish Upon a Southern Star is an anthology of re-told fairy tales (up to 10000 words each) for a YA audience. The…
Lit ResoursesNewsShort Story Writing
February 8, 2018

Newcastle Short Story Award Prize Night 6th April

Mark your diaries for Friday 6th April at 5.30pm - the eve of the Newcastle Writers Festival - to hear competition judge, Ryan O’Neill, discuss short story writing and his experience judging the competition. Following this live chat, we will announce the prizes: $3000 – first prize (University of Newcastle);…
Member NewsNewsWriting Groups
January 8, 2018

Story Time Lane

Graham Davidson and Emily S. Smith have created “Storytime Lane”, a YouTube channel with regular storytelling webisodes and a corresponding website (which also sells picture books written and illustrated by Emily and Graham), in response to the declining literacy rates in Australia. They hope their project will support the development of young…
December 19, 2017

Grieve Anthology Winners 2017

Such beautiful poems and stories were entered into the 2017 Grieve Writing Competition. Over 100 captivating, brave and compelling works by Australians were chosen to be published in the anthology Volume 5. Buy the anthology either in ebook or printed book form here Submit your poem or story into this…
2017Newcastle Poetry PrizeNews
December 18, 2017

Newcastle Poetry Prize Winners 2017

First prize: $15 000 Lucy Williams the crows in town Second prize: $5,000 Shari Kocher Forty Desert Days and Nights and White Third prize: $1,000 Judith Beveridge Suddhodana Commended Awards: Debi Hamilton Sleeping Beauty Lessons Local Award: Kit Kelen a field guide to Australian clouds (prolegomenon) Harri Jones Memorial Prize (for…